Laundry Soap Recipe and what your Pinterest boards and pins say about you

1 Comment

Coers Family Laundry Soap

 

Our family of eight – soon to be nine – can dirty up some clothes, let me tell you. Plus we have twins in cloth diapers. Our laundry is no joke. To save money, my husband recently explored Pinterest to look for a good DIY homemade laundry soap recipe. I’m always fascinated when I catch a guy on Pinterest. It’s like seeing a wild animal wandering around in the city.

Usually his boards consist of guns, cars, the occasional home DIY project. He’s not on Pinterest very often, but when he is I like to scan through his boards and pins. It’s like a little glimpse into his brain.

I scan through a few of my friends and acquaintances boards too. One thing I see quite a bit of really has me puzzled. I’ll see boards and pins dedicated to “hot” guys with cutesy names like “Eye Candy” or “Mr. Perfect” or some other nonsense. It floors me really because many of these ladies are married gals. And these are not pictures of their husbands. Unless they actually married Brad Pitt and I didn’t notice.

I know if the shoe was on the other foot, and these women’s husbands were pinning pictures of “hot” ladies – they would not be happy. They’d be downright furious. Why is it okay for them to do something they would never want their husbands to do?

Ladies – if you’re married, delight in your husband. Don’t waste your time ogling pictures of some fantasy man. You’re dishonoring your husband when you do, and you’re only hurting yourself in the long run. Fall in love with the guy who sits at your breakfast table. Perhaps you’re saying, “Well he does it too! We allow each other this guilty pleasure. It’s just for fun.” That’s some dangerous fun. It has the potential to hurt your partner. Is it worth it?

I don’t want to bum you out – I mean, you’re just here looking for a laundry soap recipe, right? But while you’re getting your laundry fresh and clean, why not shine up your relationship with the man that loves you too? It certainly can’t hurt.

Just my two cents there.

Let’s make some soap! My Mr. Perfect helped me whip up a big batch. Then he made lunch. Brad Pitt ain’t got nothing on my Scott.

Homemade Laundry Detergent

  • 1 Box of Super Washing Soda 3 lb. 7 oz. ($4.74)
  • 1 Box of Borax 4 lbs 12 oz. size ($3.38)
  • 1 Box of Pure Baking Soda 4 lb. ($2.18)
  • 3 bars of Fels-Naptha 5.5 oz. ($0.97 x3)
  • 1 container of Oxy-Clean 3 lb ($7.52)
  • Container with airtight lid – we use a five-gallon bucket
  • 1/4 cup scoop (1/8 for high-efficiency washers)
  • a food processor is helpful for shredding soap bars

laundry soap ingredients

 

This recipe makes around 2 and a half gallons (or about 15 pounds of detergent) and does about 140 loads, but with a high-efficency machine, you should be able to double that. It cost us about $20 for all the ingredients. We estimate this will last us about two and a half months, doing one to two full loads every day. That’s about 80-100 loads of laundry. The approximate cost is 20¢ per load.

Keep in mind these are Coers loads. We’re talking gigantic, stuffed-full loads of laundry with towels, jeans, kids’ clothes, several rinses for the cloth diapers. It’s crazy. Your laundry needs might not be quite as dramatic as ours.

The savings add up. It really is worth it to make your own laundry soap. And it’s easy! This takes us about 10 minutes tops. If we can do it, so can you.

 

To see our step-by-step process, visit our new and improved site: DIY Laundry Soap on thecoersfamily.com

Don’t have time for all that? Pin It for later: DIY Laundry Soap on Pinterest

One thought on “Laundry Soap Recipe and what your Pinterest boards and pins say about you

  1. Thanks for the recipe. I did want to mention that Fels Naptha is actually loaded with fragrance, if that is something you are trying to avoid. I don’t know if it is listed on the package, but it is one of the highy fragranced soaps that allergists recommend staying away from for that reason. You may also want to look in stores for what detergents actually cost per load. $0.20/load is typical for high end commercial detergents, like Tide. You can get “cheap” detergent like Purex for $0.10/load. I hit a sale at Walgreens last week and got 100 loads worth for $4–so $0.04/load. I just thought I’d share that even in a high cost of living area like here, $0.20/load is definitely not cheap! Happy laundering!

Leave a comment