Cheesy Bacon Chicken Casserole

10 Comments

Maybe I should just call this “Crazy Good Casserole” – It has chicken, bacon, cheese, creamy saucy goodness… It’s crazy good.

I threw this together the other night. I had a different casserole in mind, but I found I did not have all the ingredients. So I changed it up a bit and came out with a winner.

IMG_5407

Crazy Good Casserole

Ingredients:

  • 4-5 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 6 strips of quality bacon – cooked and crumbled
  • 2 cans cream of chicken soup
  • 2 cups shredded Monterrey Jack cheese
  • 1 box (16 ounces) dried spiral pasta
  • 1 tablespoon garlic powder
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Cook and crumble bacon. While bacon is cooking, cut chicken into bite-sized chunks. Set cooked bacon aside for later use. In the same pan, cook chicken in bacon drippings. Add garlic powder and salt and pepper to taste.

IMG_5414

While chicken is cooking, prepare pasta according to directions. Spray a 9×13 baking pan with non-stick cooking spray. Preheat oven to 400.

Drain pasta, return to pot. Add chicken, both cans of cream of chicken soup, 1 cup of Monterrey Jack cheese – stir to mix well. Pour into prepared baking dish.

IMG_5412

Top with crumbled bacon.

IMG_5411

Top with remaining cup of Monterrey Jack cheese.

IMG_5410

Bake at 400 for about 20 minutes, just until cheese is melted and beginning to brown on top.

IMG_5409

Oh my goodness – this is crazy good! Creamy, yummy, bacony… We loved it!

IMG_5404

10 thoughts on “Cheesy Bacon Chicken Casserole

  1. I tried this last week and it was great comfort food. However, I don’t think there’s any way it could truly be an entire tablespoon of garlic powder. I used a teaspoon and it was still way garlicky. Might switch to a half teaspoon next time. Very filling!

  2. I made this recipe for dinner tonight and it was a hit! I used bacon pieces instead of cooking bacon (less greasy) and used coarsely ground garlic salt to season the chicken instead of garlic powder. My picky eaters really liked it….and that says a LOT! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

