Thankful Thursday: 9 Months of Breastfeeding

19 Comments

This is officially the longest I’ve breastfed any of my children. With each of my previous four I’ve had to wean before I was really ready. With my first I made it four months before introducing a bottle undermined our efforts. With my second, only two months – then returning to work made it almost impossible to keep going. With my third I managed to go for a full eight months, then when I returned to college I introduced a bottle and she was weaned shortly after. I was dedicated to breastfeeding baby number four for at least a year, maybe the first two – but I became pregnant with the twins when she was only five months old and my body could not keep up.

But as of this past Sunday I’ve been breastfeeding the twins exclusively for nine full months!

During our first six months, it took total dedication to establish our breastfeeding relationship and my milk supply. Since then breastfeeding has been a lot easier.

IMG_4956

The twins began eating solids at six months. They still receive about 80% of their nourishment from my milk. They’re growing big and strong. And I’m shrinking! I weighed 264 right before I had the twins. Taking into consideration the 15 pounds of babies (each twin weighed 7.7) as well as the weight of the placentas, fluid, and natural pregnancy gain – I’ve lost 90 pounds since I gave birth – about 50 of that was all me! I only have 20 more to lose to get back to my “before-six-kids” size.

IMG_5104

I still breastfeed on demand. The twins eat three meals and a few snacks.

IMG_5084

And they’re growing into these adorable, fun, wonderful little kids! David is sweet and cuddly, very out-going and adventurous. Harmony can be more thoughtful, calculating, quirky and completely funny.

smack

It’s been wonderful. There have been rough spots, times when I would have been more than happy to give up and give them formula. My body is up for grabs right now – I’m available 24/7 for feedings. But the three of us are healthier for it.

IMG_4932

I’m committed to feeding past the first year, closer to their second. It’s hard work – but I wouldn’t change a thing.

IMG_4901

I’m so thankful we’ve made it this far, and with God’s help – we’ll make it another year.

19 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday: 9 Months of Breastfeeding

  1. The nursing thing is tough for sure as EVERYONE has an opinion about it that they need to share with you. And it’s such a personal decision. I applaud you for giving so much of yourself to your babes. I was lucky enough to nurse both girls just over a year and I had my own mother and mother-in-law trying to talk me out of it as they saw it taking such a toll on my energy (and sanity–lol ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) But no regrets–ever. Even those who choose not to or can’t nurse should be applauded as we all make the decisions in the best way we know how for our families.

    And again, wow you’ve had a chunk of busy years! That’s three children before returning to college? Your halo is being polished up above as I write ๐Ÿ™‚

    • LOL well, with my first three I started early. I had three by the time I was 21 – and then I decided to go to college. Kind of backwards ๐Ÿ˜‰ now those three are teens and I’m doing it all over again! But it’s very fun and the big kids are amazing helpers.

  2. Congratulations on 9 months!! That is awesome, Amanda! ๐Ÿ˜€ They are adorable and so blessed to have you as their mommy. xoxo

  3. Congratulations! We just passed the one year mark and I’m not planning on stopping until she’s ready! Serious kudos for nursing twins, too. I can’t imagine the challenge that brings. But I’m sure it brings lots of joy too. ๐Ÿ™‚ Good job!

  4. Amanda, thank you for being so inspiring ๐Ÿ™‚
    Here I was,having a mini pity party abt not having much help with my 3 rd child & I stumble upon ur page:) God works in mysterious ways. I thank God for lifting my spirits up through you. God bless you & my prayers that you achieve your goal.

    • I’m praying God blesses you today! ๐Ÿ™‚ I don’t know what it is about the 3rd child, but it’s tough! I had a hard time with my third. She was the sweetest baby, but I felt so overwhelmed! She’s 12 now – and just fabulous. I love her to pieces and wouldn’t change a thing. But I know what it feels like to be at home with 3 little ones and feel all alone. I promise it gets better! *hug*

  5. Congratulations!! What a wonderful milestone! ๐Ÿ™‚ I am currently nursing my #4 who is 6 months. I have managed to nurse them all, so I know what a struggle it is.

    I have only had singletons, so I can only imagine the challenge of twins! ๐Ÿ™‚ Good Job!!!

  6. Congratulations! It must be a wonderful feeling to do what so many people tell twin moms they canโ€™t do: breastfeed twins exclusively. My twins, who are 6 1/2 months now, are my first kids. Weโ€™ve battled SO much to get to this point, and while they arenโ€™t breastfeed exclusively, itโ€™s pretty close. It does take so much determination and effort! Good job!
    By the way, can you only comment if you have a wordpress account? It won’t let me log in with my blogger acct.

    • Hi Elizabeth ๐Ÿ™‚ congrats on your twins! I’m not sure how WordPress and Blogger work with each other, if at all. I usually log in with Google Plus if I’m commenter on Blogger sites.

  7. Wow we have very close families…my husband and I had two kids right out of high school, I earned my bachelors, had a third kid and am now currently breastfeeding my 9 month old boy/girl twins. The other kids are 16, 14 & 7 and a huge help!

  8. Hello there! Congrats on bf for so long. My twin girls are 3 months old and I’ve had a really tough time. I introduced bottles too early and was only pumping for 2 weeks and my supply almost completely diminished. So now I’ve been only bfeeding except one night bottle with a little rice cereal. My supply still hasn’t gotten to where I’d like it to be. Do you have any tips or suggestions? I’m already taking fenugreek and eating oatmeal in the morning. I really don’t want them to have formula and I’m set on making it work! Also do you feed them both at the same time while your alone ? I just can’t get them to both stay latched. Maybe I’m not Puting them in the right positions? Any advice would be great! Thanks so much !
    Kelsea

    • Hi there twin mommy! First, I recommend two sites: Kellymom.com and The Leaky Boob – lots of good breast feeding info there!

      It might be helpful to feed both babies at the same time as much as possible. This will help stimulate your breasts to produce more milk. When I’m alone and I need to feed both babies I get down on the floor with lots of pillows. Put the babies in feetie pajamas, you can grab the pajamas and pick up the baby with one hand if you need to. It’s best to be on the floor for this. Also, if you can get one, I really recommend the Brest Friend twin nursing pillow. It’s big and square and it’s easier to hold both babies this way. It’ll take practice, but after a few tries you might be able to find a way that works for you.

      If you can’t get both on, it’s okay! ๐Ÿ™‚ just nurse as much as possible. Nurse around the clock for a few days to get production up. Drink LOTS of water and make sure you’re eating 3,000 calories a day!

      Remember it takes a few days for your body to increase milk supply. Hang in there mommy! I’ll be praying for you ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

