Quick and Easy Banana Bread Made With Cake Mix

34 Comments

Rainy days make me want to bake. I probably should admit that sunny days make me want to bake. And cold days… hot days… any kind of weather. But I don’t have a problem. I can stop ANYTIME I want to!

I just don’t want to.

Especially if I have several boxes of cake mix I picked up on sale and a bunch of very ripe bananas. It’s a crime against my family if I have the makings for yummy banana bread and I don’t whip it up right away. At least that’s what my husband would say. He loves banana bread. And I love him – so I made him some banana bread.

Ain’t love grand?

IMG_5175

Banana Bread (made with cake mix)

Ingredients:

  • 1 box cake mix – I really love to use Butter Pecan cake mix for this recipe. It makes outstanding banana bread. Yellow or white cake mix works great as well.
  • 1 stick butter
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 very ripe bananas

IMG_5183

Preheat oven to 350. Lightly coat bread loaf pan with cooking spray.

A word about how I store my bananas: I stick them in the freezer. I guess that’s six words.

IMG_5186

Whenever I see bananas getting browned I simply put them in our freezer, peel and all – no freezer bag or other storage option needed. When I’m ready to use the bananas for bread or muffins, I take them out of the freezer and put them in a bowl. If I’m not in a hurry I’ll let the bananas sit out on the counter (in the bowl) for a few hours to thaw. Then I’ll peel them into the bowl and go on from there. When they thaw on the counter, they’ll leak this oily banana juice. Don’t wrinkle your nose like that – this stuff is awesome! It’s a natural banana extract that will pump up the banana flavor in your bread and muffins. Embrace the banana juice.

If I’m short on time – or I just want to hurry up and eat some banana bread – I’ll defrost the bananas in the microwave. Simply heat bananas in a bowl on high for a minute or two until thawed enough to remove the peels.

IMG_5187

The bananas are often still slightly frozen, but that’s okay – I need to melt the butter. So I add that to the bowl and return it to the microwave for another minute or two, until the butter has melted and it’s easy to mix.

IMG_5189

Mash and blend the butter and bananas to form your liquid base for the bread.

IMG_5190

Pour cake mix on top of banana/butter mixture. This creates a barrier to keep the hot butter/banana mixture away from the eggs. I add the eggs to a small well in the middle of the cake mix and stir slowly to introduce the eggs gradually to the hot butter. There’s a fancy cooking term called “tempering” when you do this – but really, we’re just trying to avoid scrambling the eggs.

IMG_5191

Mix to blend well, creating a scrumptious smooth batter. With standard quick bread recipes like banana bread you usually want to avoid over mixing to keep the bread from being too tough. There’s no worry of that with this recipe – so mix away. Don’t go crazy and make a souffle, but feel free to stir until fully blended.

IMG_5192

Pour into prepared bread pan and bake at 350 for 45 minutes to one hour, until a fork or toothpick can be inserted into the middle and come out clean.

IMG_5194

Mmmm! Delicious!

It’s VERY important to allow this bread to cool completely before trying to remove from the pan. You don’t want your bread to fall apart, it’s tragic.

IMG_5172

But patience is a virtue that will be rewarded with crazy yummy banana bread!

IMG_5173

34 thoughts on “Quick and Easy Banana Bread Made With Cake Mix

  1. Pingback: banana bread fiesta | food for fun

  2. this looks great! A few dumb questions…your butter stick looks different than mine.. do you know the size? maybe we have different sizes up here in Canada. I don’t want to over butter…also dumb question…is a bread loaf pan just a regular loaf pan or is it bigger? i have a loaf pan but also looks smaller than your picture. Just wondering a few of these things before i try it. Also, have you ever added nuts.

    • Hi there ๐Ÿ™‚ our butter is a 1/2 cup per stick. And I’m just using a regular ol’ bread pan. I’ve never tried nuts – but I’d bet that would be yummy!

      • Thanks. our butter sticks are 2 cups a stick so i’ll use a quarter of it and hope for the best!

    • Can you freeze the cake mixes in the boxes? Yes, I think so – and it shouldn’t affect the quality of the mix.

      Can you freeze the banana bread after baking? Yes ๐Ÿ™‚ definitely! Wrap tightly in plastic wrap after allow to cool fully after baking. Wrap again in foil.

  3. Made this tonight. Used 4 ‘naners, three eggs, one TBS orange juice concentrate, chopped pecans and the butter with yellow cake mix. Baked in a bundt pan and it turned out like a cake, not a heavy wet texture. We really enjoyed this! Will keep as my go to recipe.
    Thank you for sharing ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • I managed B&B’s. If you freeze oranges whole,,,just take one out and allow it to sit a few minutes so the peel thaws a little, then grate about one Tblspn into the mix along with 2 T orange juice (I grow oranges and freeze some of the juice in ice cube trays). One cube from tray should be enough.

      Amanda…my friend’s granddaughter has Mt Hope Chronicles Blog…you may enjoy it!

  4. Your site came up on google as I was looking for a recipe. Just wanted you to know, since its your family statement, that it is “my household and I will serve the Lord” not me and my household.
    I wish you well.

  5. I made these this morning before church and they were delicious!!!!๐Ÿ˜Š. What a great idea for when you are out of muffin mixes. I actually made mine in muffin tins and cooked for 25 min. Yummo!!’

  6. I had a white cake mix left from birthday cake baking and 3 ripe bananas. I thought, “I bet I could make banana muffins.” I googled to see if it had been done and found you. They turned out delicious! Changes/Additions: Used 4 eggs, added pecans, added vanilla and almond extracts, baked in muffin pan with paper liners.

  7. I am going to try your tip about freezing bananas. I just can’t seem to keep them from going bad when I don’t have time to bake. I can’t wait to try the recipe using cake mix. Thank you for your tips. Have a blessed day.

  8. I got Butter yellow cake mix. Is the stick of butter an absolute necessity? I just realized i don’t have any stick butter? Can I use country croc(non real butter)

  9. So I made this & it’s Delish. It’s more like cake though. I also had to use a 9×13 cake pan. Did I do anything wrong?

  10. I have been using a cake mix for years and I really like using over ripe bananas ….I also make mini muffins and mini loaves….freezes great…and the kids love the mini muffins…..

  11. Making some now, but my bananas weren’t ripe so I melted the butter then sliced the bananas into the butter and nuked again for 30 seconds then mashed. It’s in the oven now, can’t wait to see and taste the results.

  12. Pingback: Super Simple 6 Ingredient Banana Bread Recipe

Leave a Reply

