Pizza Buns – a quick and tasty lunch

7 Comments

Occasionally when my husband is home from work I have to make “real” lunch. Normally we fend for ourselves for lunch around here. The twins and toddler have their naps staggered during the day, so I’m often putting someone to bed around lunchtime. My two older homeschool kiddos will heat up leftovers or make a sandwich. But when hubby is home I try to make a nice lunch for him to say thank you for working hard to support our family.

He loves pizza. I glanced in the fridge and noticed some leftover hamburger buns and got an idea for a toasty “sandwich” made with pizza ingredients.

pizza buns

Pizza Buns

Ingredients:

  • Hamburger buns
  • Spaghetti (or pizza) sauce
  • Shredded mozzarella
  • Pepperoni

Set oven to broil. Place buns on a baking sheet. Spread a tablespoon of spaghetti (or pizza) sauce onto each bun. Sprinkle shredded mozzarella onto buns. Place a couple of slices of peperoni on shredded cheese.

Place in oven and broil for a few minutes until cheese has melted and pepperoni is crispy.

Serve to happy husband and children and look like a total boss at lunchtime.

7 thoughts on “Pizza Buns – a quick and tasty lunch

  1. What a great idea! I’ve made pizza bagels and pita pizza, but I’ve never thought of using hamburger buns – love it! 😀

  2. Love these! I like to use leftover hamburger and hot dog buns (or the ones on discount for $0.50!) for stuff like this all the time! It’s always fun for the kids, and easy enough that they can make them on their own too. Yummy!

  3. I just pinned this to my pinterest! This a great idea, for a lunch or with a salad for a light dinner on hectic nights. 🙂 Thanks!

Leave a Reply

