Thankful Thursday: Water

Leave a comment

At 4 a.m. a few nights ago I was laying in our bed nursing one of our twins. My throat was so dry, my tongue swollen and sticky – all I could think about was water. I hated to bother my husband about it, but my thirst was great and my hands were full.

I woke him and asked if he would mind getting some water for me. I fully expected him to get some water from our adjoining bathroom. That would have been perfectly fine. Instead he went into the kitchen and brought me a large glass of ice water.

I was so grateful for that cold clean water! I could not have loved my husband more if he would have been carrying a dozen roses. The water was perfect. I gulped enthusiastically, slating my thirst.

We take water for granted here. I’m not usually subjected to real thirst. I normally keep a large glass filled with ice water near me at all times. Breastfeeding twins keeps can make me dehydrated quickly. But water is never out of my reach. In our house we’re never more than 20 feet away from an endless supply of clean water.

water

photo from creationswap.com

The same can not be said for countless others in various parts of the world.  Almost 1 billion people in the world don’t have clean water to drink. They’re thirsty. Their children are thirsty. They drink from dirty wells, mud puddles, murky ponds. They get sick. They die.

4,500 children die every day from diseases caused by dirty, contaminated water. That’s one child every 15 seconds. More than 2.2 million people every year die from water-borne diseases because they have no choice but to drink contaminated water.

Should we feel guilty for having access to clean water? No – we should be grateful. And with grateful hearts we should give to help others enjoy the same basic provision.

The Thirst Project is hosting World Water Day tomorrow, March 22, 2013 to help raise awareness and ultimately funds to establish clean water sources in communities around the globe.

Seth Maxwell, Founder of The Thirst Project, first became aware of the global water crisis in the summer of 2007 through a friend who had recently returned from a humanitarian service trip to Uganda. Armed with a little knowledge and a desire to do more, he and a few other college students were able to turn $70 into $1,700 to fund a rehabilitation of a freshwater well. The Thirst Project was born! To date their organization has raised over $2.6Million and funded projects to provide over 100,000 people with safe, clean water.

It all started with a few people wanting to help others.

You can help too!

“When you give and make the choice to live beyond yourself, your world actually expands and you enjoy the experience of living generously.”  –  The Thirst Project

“For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in,” – Matthew 23:35

Connect with The Thirst Project on Twitter to find more ways to help. Visit their website to find opportunities to give or raise awareness. And thank God for blessing you with clean, safe water to drink.

Leave a Reply

