The 10 Commandments of Mom Blogging

16 Comments

Blogging and managing a family requires balance. If I’m not careful, I’ll spend too much time working on the blog and then we’ll find ourselves eating a few too many frozen entrees. Swing the other direction and days roll by without a post and readers lose interest. To keep myself accountable, I’ve created my very own 10 commandments for the blog.

commandments

1. Thou shalt not start another blog.

Sometimes I’ll find myself thinking crazy thoughts like, “I should have a blog for cupcakes… and another one for social commentary… and one just for posting whatever random dream I had the night before…” That’s what categories are for Amanda.

2. Thou shalt not ignore everyone else’s blogs.

It’s good to branch out and read posts from other mom bloggers. Too much me makes me a dull me. Or something like that.

3. Thou shalt not dwell in full-blown Ugly Blogger Gear.

If I’m not careful I’ll get up and spend the day at the computer wearing pajama pants, flip-flops, a stained tank top, a too-large sports bra, and a cardigan. I call this my Ugly Blogger Gear. It’s not pretty. Blogging should not trump personal hygiene. And just for the sake of full disclosure: the outfit I described was an actual outfit I found myself wearing at 3:30 when it was time to pick up my oldest Big from high school. Oh the shame.

4. Thou shalt not post teen stories without teen permission.

I live with teenagers – awesome, funny, crazy teenagers. It’s great! It’s like watching a Cessna pilot try to fly a passenger jet. They have hardly any control over their own bodies and often crash into each other or the walls. Total blogging gold. But the teenage years are tough enough without mom jotting notes every time you walk face-first into the sliding glass door. If something particularly funny happens, I’ll ask if I can share it. If they decline, I leave it be. Besides, I have infant twins and a toddler who are all too happy to provide mom with funny antics for the blog.

5. Thou shalt get your priorities straight.

Six kids need me. The blog can (and will) always be second to them.

6. Thou shalt not complain.

It would be easy to use my blog as a personal soapbox. I could spend hours griping about everything from the price of lettuce to the less-than-friendly mail carrier in our neighborhood. But nobody wants to read that. And I don’t need to dwell on negativity. This blog is for sharing tips, recipes, uplifting and funny stories and other good-for-you stuff. If you want to hear me gripe, catch me on my first cup of coffee at the kitchen table. I’ll chew your ear off.

7. Thou shalt provide content regularly.

I have subscribers. People actually want to read more from this blog on a regular basis. I love these people! I want to make sure I’m not letting them down by neglecting the blog for days on end. Blogging is a hobby that acts like a job.

8. Thou shalt use spell check.

‘Nuff sayed.

9. Thou shalt strive to improve.

There’s never been a better time to blog. It’s so easy to find great tips for improving your writing and your site. I personally keep a Pinterest board full of great information from fellow bloggers. I take this site seriously and I want to continue to grow and improve as a blogger and a writer.

10. Thou shalt not be ashamed.

When I first started blogging I was embarrassed to even say “blogging” out loud. It sounds like “blah.” Hubby would ask me what I was doing and I would hang my head and mumble “oh.. just… blogging…” But as I’ve come to enjoy the work of several other bloggers I’ve come to realize blogging is a legitimate and valuable writing field with amazing opportunities for growth and personal improvement.

My name is Amanda, and I’m a Blogger.

Do you have any rules or “commandments” of your own? Share them here in the comments! It’s always great to hear from fellow bloggers.

16 thoughts on “The 10 Commandments of Mom Blogging

  1. Well said! I don’t have teenagers but I do have family who prefer to stay private ๐Ÿ™‚ and I shall endeavor to update my blog as often as I can (although I don’t have that many followers, but am grateful that people do read my posts :))

  2. Everyone of these is so true! Especially #6, don’t complain about your life, no one wants to hear it. Oh and #3, Ugly Blogger Gear is hilarious. I can imagine the mortified look on your teen’s face at pickup! LOL! This is my first time here, now following!

Leave a Reply

