Thankful Thursday: I can’t do it all

3 Comments

I can’t do it all. I can’t take care of the house. I can’t be supermom. I can’t keep up with the blog. I can’t stay on top of my daily Bible reading. I can’t always keep track of my calories. I can’t be all things to all people.

I’m insufficient. I’m broken. I’m not enough.

But I know One who is enough. I know One who helps me to accomplish all that I need to do and more.

His name is Jesus.

I get so caught up trying to be Martha. No, not Martha Stewart. Martha – friend of Christ. She was awesome. Total superwoman, putting together potlucks, cleaning the house, making sure Jesus was comfortable while he visited. She had it all going on. But she was missing the mark.

I know how she felt. Tired at the end of the day, but still frustrated. The check-marks on the to-do list weren’t fulfilling. The thought of “more to do” the next day was draining. Fretting over little details no one else would notice. Feeling unappreciated. Caught up in the busy-ness.

And when she was frazzled and called out for help, the Lord put her in her place. I wonder if it stung a bit.

“But Lord! I’m making five different kinds of muffins so everyone will have their favorites! Surely that’s important!”

I’m such a Martha sometimes. I huff and puff my way through obligations. Things I “should” do because I’m “supposed” to be doing this or that. No joy, no love – just checking off the to-do list.

And meanwhile, my Savior is in another room. I’m missing it! I’m trying to do it all – and I’m missing Christ.

I’m so thankful when God shows me that I can’t do it all.

The days that I burn through the housework, produce a yummy dinner, tackle all the to-do’s and collapse at the end of the day just worn out from being so busy are actually my WORST days. I haven’t prayed because I didn’t need to. I was handling my busy-ness like a big girl.

The days when things are going wrong, babies are crying, dinner is a disaster, I’m way behind and breaking down … those are good days. Those are the days filled with prayers, “Help me Lord. I can’t do this Lord. I need you. I’m not enough.”

Those are the days when I walk out of the kitchen and sit at the feet of Jesus. Then I’m Mary – just living in His presence and forgetting everything else.

I can’t do it all.

But I know One who can.

Luke 10:38-42

At the Home of Martha and Mary

38 As Jesus and his disciples were on their way, he came to a village where a woman named Martha opened her home to him. 39 She had a sister called Mary, who sat at the Lord’s feet listening to what he said. 40 But Martha was distracted by all the preparations that had to be made. She came to him and asked, “Lord, don’t you care that my sister has left me to do the work by myself? Tell her to help me!”

41 “Martha, Martha,” the Lord answered, “you are worried and upset about many things, 42 but few things are needed—or indeed only one. Mary has chosen what is better, and it will not be taken away from her.”

3 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday: I can’t do it all

  1. What a beautiful post. ❤ And such truth. We need to rest with Jesus and breathe. We run far too much! The muffins example REALLY hit home with me!! lol

    • Thank you for reading 🙂 I hate it when I find myself in knots, caught up with trying to do too much and I’m missing out on what matters most in life!

Leave a Reply

