Chicken Pot Pie in the Crock Pot

153 Comments

For more great Crock Pot recipes, see our new site: www.thecoersfamily.com/recipes and discover some more of our family’s favorites, like Chicken Stroganoff, Crock Pot Chocolate CakeMild Chili with Beans, or BBQ Pork Sandwiches.

I’m so conflicted about this post. I love Crock Pot recipes. I’m constantly on Pinterest cruising around for new ways to cook dinner in my Crock Pot. It annoys the heck out of me when I come across a recipe that I think is completely made in the Crock Pot only to discover there are additional steps needed to finish the dish.

And here I am, posting one of those recipes. But this pot pie recipe is so good, so easy to put together – it’s worth the few extra steps.

IMG_4635

Chicken Pot Pie

Ingredients – makes 2 large pies:

  • 4-5 frozen chicken breasts
  • 1 large can (family size) condensed cream of chicken soup
  • 4-5 medium potatoes, peeled and diced
  • 2 cups frozen vegetables – we prefer peas and carrots
  • Salt and Pepper to taste
  • 1-2 cups shredded cheese
  • 4 pie crusts
  • 1 egg white

In Crock Pot, combine chicken breasts, potatoes, frozen vegetables, cream of chicken soup and mix well. Add additional salt and pepper if desired.

IMG_4615

Cook on low for 6-8 hours until chicken is fully cooked. Use a sturdy spoon to break up the chicken after cooking. Preheat oven to 400. Prepare pie crusts. Spoon chicken filling into pie crust.

IMG_4618

Top with shredded cheese.

IMG_4619

Top with pie crust.

IMG_4621

Cut slits into the top crust to vent steam during baking. Cut excess crust from edges and pinch to seal.

IMG_4623

Brush with egg white and bake for 20-30 minutes until crust is fully cooked and golden brown on top.

IMG_4630

With this particular batch I had enough filling for an extra pie. I only had one pie crust left in my freezer, so I improvised and made a buttery crumb topping. My family loved this variation.

IMG_4625

In a bowl melt one stick of butter, add Panko bread crumbs (1 1/2 – 2 cups) and mix with a fork until moistened, not sloppy – but crumbly and slightly moist.

IMG_4626

IMG_4627

Top pie with buttered bread crumbs

IMG_4628

IMG_4629

Cover with foil, bake at 400 for 20 minutes. Remove foil, return to oven to brown for an additional 10-15 minutes.

IMG_4636

For more great Crock Pot recipes, see our new site: www.thecoersfamily.com/recipes and discover some more of our family’s favorites, like Chicken Stroganoff, Crock Pot Chocolate Cake, Mild Chili with Beans, or BBQ Pork Sandwiches.

153 thoughts on “Chicken Pot Pie in the Crock Pot

  1. What a great recipe and the step by step pics are a huge help. Sending to my daughter at college. Will be like a taste of home for her and her house roommates. Thanks much..

  2. I couldn’t find family size cream of chicken soup at the grocery store, how many regular cans would be around the same?

  3. This recipe is amazing!!!! My husband loves it and my picky kids love it!!!! I have made it twice once with deep dish pie crusts and once with regular pie crusts definately recommend the deep dish 🙂 but was wonderful with either
    Thank you so much for sharing this recipe now everyone want me to share it too

  4. Hi Amanda! I have this in the crock pot cooking right now. My only question is, do you use frozen pie crusts or already made ones? Thanks!

  5. If I use chicken thighs or breasts that are not frozen, how long should I cook them in the crockpot? It should not be the same time as if they are frozen, right?

  6. Made this today, it was a huge hit!!! Everyone loved it! I added another can of soup because I had so much chicken. Also, I had used entire bag of frozen veggies. I added some thyme and a dash of poultry seasoning and since I had some heavy cream I put in a tiny bit! Easily will make 3 deep dish pies. I put the other filling in freezer bags and it won’t be long before it’s cooked. Thank you for this comfort food keeper!!! BTW, the extra post ~ cooker steps are worth it:-)

  7. I skipped the pie crust and baking and serve over biscuits or cornbread. My family loves it and it takes the extra steps out of the process.

    • I saw the variation with biscuits at themonthlylineup.wordpress.com (Aug 29) but they credit this blog as the source. I plan to try this biscuit style, especially with your good report.

  8. What are your thoughts on freezing one of these pies for use later in the month? How would I go about freezing a fully prepared pie?

    • I think you could put together to pie as directed, but you may want to let the filling cool before assembling if you’re going to freeze the whole pie.

      Then cover with foil and freeze.

      It should thaw in the fridge for at least 24 hours before baking.

    • Hi Janet 🙂 I would freeze the filling after cooking – but before putting into the pie crust. When ready to assemble, allow filling to thaw in the fridge for 24 hours, then assemble pies as directed.

  9. Thanks! This was excellent – I used frozen tater tots for the potatoes so it made it super easy. I used only 2 chicken breasts thawed in the fridge so I cooked it 3 hours on high. My husband asked if I would make it once a week!

  10. I just made this and realized I bought mushroom soup instead grrrrrrr I put chicken broth in too . I needed to drown out the smell. It’s snowing out otherwise I’d go fix this. Do you think i could use this too? Thanks!

  11. My boys (my husband and son) LOVE this dish! They request it weekly now. Thank you for rescuing this working mother 🙂

  12. Looks great, trying it Tomorrow! Have u ever used crm of celery or onion in this? Thought about adding one of those. Also, Do you think doing the recipe x1.5 would be enough for 14 people?

    • Hi there! I’ve never tried using those particular soups, but I’m sure they’ll be just fine in your pot pie. And upping the recipe by 1.5 should make about three large pies – enough for 14 I would think. Two large pies feeds the eight of us, and usually a guest or two.

  13. Pingback: Slow Cooker, Fix it & Forget it and Crockpot Recipes - Doesn't Matter What You Call it, Just Do It! - Princess Pinky Girl

  14. Love your recipe! Everyone I have shared it with has also enjoyed it. I have made it three times in the past two months. Its definitely a keeper!!!

  15. This is the first time I have used a crock pot believe it or not. I just worry about knowing when it is done. If I use chicken that is not frozen, and put the crock pot on high…how long should that take. As long as the chicken isn’t pink, does that mean it is done?

  16. Made this tonight and was pleasantly surprised. Doesn’t look like much going into the crockpot, but once everything marries together, the filling is quite delicious. Used the top and bottom crust, and everything came out perfectly. A delicious no-fuss, hearty meal that everyone loved. Very comforting for a cold winter night. Thanks for one of the few crockpot recipes that I will actually make again!

  17. So happy I came across this recipe! I had never made a pot pie before and I LOVE using my crockpot so this was perfect! I did alter the ingredients to what I had in the house (omitting the potato, adding onion, garlic & a mix of frozen green beans, carrots, peas). I also added some poultry seasoning and a little sprinkle of chili powder. Smelled so good while cooking and I love that it made so much I could freeze a batch to make another one. It was a big hit with the family – I can’t wait to make it again!

  18. Sounds delicious! I can’t wait to make this for my family. It is the perfect comfort food for this chilly Canadian winter we are having!
    Thank you for sharing!
    P.S. I always pre-bake my bottom shells to brown them before using them in any type of recipe. It helps them to not taste ‘mushy’.
    Cheers.

  19. This recipe is awesome. My hubby gets nervous when I try new recipes and most of the time does not like the turn out. He’s VERY picky. But this one, he loved!! The only thing he wanted me to “tweek” it was add more chicken. He likes a lot of meat 🙂 thank you for a great and easy recipe my whole family loves!

  20. My sister made this recipe several times last month and has been raving about it, so I’m making it tonight for my husband. We’re substituting the crust for gluten free rolls, but I can’t wait to try this!

  21. Pingback: Crockpot Deconstructed Chicken Pot Pie | Terrified In the Kitchen

  22. I made this the other night and it came out SOOOOOO delicious! Thank you so much for this recipe! I’m sending everyone here for this recipe!

  23. Pingback: Slow Cooker Recipes: Over 50 Appetizers, Breads, Entrees, and More | Free Homeschool Deals ©

  24. I am curious, do you think that I could use crescent rolls, rolled out on top instead of using a pie crust on top? Thanks, can’t wait to make this!

  25. This is so easy and good! It is a regular in our house now 🙂 We do omit the potatoes and stir in the cheese instead of putting it on top.

Leave a Reply

