Giving away my crown

4 Comments

“but that if a woman has long hair, it is her glory? For long hair is given to her as a covering.” – 1 Corinthians 11:15

I’ve always wanted long, wavy, luxurious hair. In my late teens and early twenties I experimented with various hair color options, cuts and styles ranging from medium length to super short. In the back of my mind, I still held on to that desire to have my long, healthy locks blowing in the breeze, like some heroic beauty from days long ago.

A lot of women and young girls love the idea of gorgeous long hair. We spend untold amounts of money on conditioners and treatments, styling and changing our hair and the drop of a hat. Our hairstyle is often part of our identity. It’s a thing of pride to have beautiful, long, healthy hair.

When I was pregnant with my fourth child I made up my mind to stop dying my hair, embrace the grey streak emerging in the front and grow out my tresses. It took a couple of years to grow it out, cut out any remaining hair dye, grow it some more – but finally I had lovely long hair that was my own natural color for the first time since I was 16 years old.

My once blond hair had turned an ashy brown with a shock of silver in the front. It was distinctive. I was proud of my lovely locks.

And it was with pride that I recently cut my hair and donated it to Locks of Love.

hair

When I went to the post office with my special package, the post master on duty asked me if I would like to pay a little extra for shipping insurance. “Nah,” I replied, “It’s just my hair. I’ll grow some more.” We chuckled and I handed over two years worth of growth.

mail

I loved that hair. I conditioned it. I took vitamins to grow it. I brushed it and took it easy with the styling tools. It was great hair.

And now someone else will enjoy it.

I love the idea that some little girl somewhere will be fitted with a pretty wig, making her feel like a princess as she battles cancer. Her long tresses will fan out in the breeze and she’ll be the beautiful hero in her own fairy tale.

Goodbye hair. May you be a crown of glory for someone in need.

4 thoughts on “Giving away my crown

  1. I may end up doing the same thing. I haven’t dyed mine in a while and it’s getting quite long. Probably another year (if I can stand it) and it’ll be long enough to donate.

  2. Love locks of love! I have donated my hair 3 times which has added up to more than 30 inches; it has been such an amazing experience. I highly recommend it. I never realized what an amazing gift hair was until I had a friend that went through chemo, after that I realized how much hair means to those who have lost it. Way to go!

Leave a Reply

