Quick and Easy Blueberry Muffins Made With Cake Mix

8 Comments

For more great muffin recipes, see our NEW site: www.thecoersfamily.com/recipes and discover some more of our family’s favorites, like:

I make a lot of muffins. We take breakfast items to share with our Sunday School groups at our church. Muffins are a quick and easy item to whip up for a crowd. Cake mix makes it all the more easy to bake up something yummy to share. Whenever cake mixes are on sale at our local grocery store, I like to buy at least 10 boxes to use for cookies, muffins, and banana bread.

Blueberry Muffins

IMG_4278

Ingredients:

  • 1 box cake mix (yellow or white)
  • 1 cup frozen blueberries
  • 3 eggs
  • 2/3 cup milk
  • 1/2 stick melted butter

IMG_4266

Crumb Topping:

  • 2 tablespoons butter, cold
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup flour

Preheat oven to 350. Prepare muffin tin with liners or non-stick cooking spray.

In a bowl, add cake mix, eggs, blueberries, milk and (slightly cooled) melted butter and mix until well incorporated. It’s important to cool the melted butter. Hot butter + raw eggs = scrambled eggs. Not necessarily something you want in your blueberry muffins.

Spoon batter into muffin tin. If you have any additional blueberries, I like to add two or three to the tops of each muffin for extra berry yumminess.

For the topping: In a small bowl mix flour and brown sugar. Cut cold butter into flour/sugar mixture. It’s best to use a fork for this job. The idea is to use a cutting motion to turn big butter chunks into a course sand mixture. From this:

Big butter chunks - I think that's going to be my stage name

Big butter chunks – I think that’s going to be my stage name

To this:

The most delicious sand you'll ever eat

The most delicious sand you’ll ever eat

Sprinkle crumb topping onto muffins and bake for 20-25 minutes, until topping has browned and muffins are cooked throughout.

IMG_4280

Chock full of blueberry nom-iness

8 thoughts on “Quick and Easy Blueberry Muffins Made With Cake Mix

  1. I was looking forward to making these muffins for my husbands meeting, but too bad ,they came out really dry. Also, I had a huge amount of topping left. If I were to ever make them again, I would add applesauce instead of the butter, to add moisture, and twice as many blueberries. It looks like you put in twice as many as you put on your recipe.

  2. Crumb topping was WAY off (too much flour) – I would have used 1/2c brown sugar to 1/4c flour – wish I read the comments before I used this recipe – this is the first recipe that comes up in Google for making blueberry muffins with cake mix – you may want to rewrite your recipe. Fingers are crossed that mine come out ok – I did read another recipe and incorporated 2TB of flour and 1 tsp baking powder along with 2/3 c milk into my batter. Cut my baking time down too.

    • Hi Christine – thank you so much for your comment. You were right! This recipe has major kinks. I’ve made some corrections. I can only blame sleep deprivation – I had infant twins when I wrote this – and being a big ol’ n00b in the blogging world.

Leave a Reply

