Mexican Lasagna and Terrible Food Photography

6 Comments

Have you seen really good food photography that makes you want to take a bite out of your monitor? You know, the up-close, detailed pictures that elevate food to an art form. Classy images of beautifully-plated meals are posed perfectly to inspire you to create your own culinary masterpieces. I love those pictures.

These are not those kind of pictures.

Actually, these could be some of the worst food pictures on the internet. I do my best with my iPhone camera in my poorly-lit kitchen. But often my pictures leave much to be desired. In my defense, this is a casserole recipe, and casseroles are not the prettiest dishes. But they are tasty.

Mexican Lasagna

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound ground beef
  • 1 can of Rotel diced tomatoes with green chilis
  • 1 package of taco seasoning
  • 2 cans of enchilada sauce
  • 2 cans of pinto beans
  • 1 can of corn
  • Shredded Monterey Jack cheese
  • Corn or flour tortillas
IMG_4197

The first in a series of terrible pictures

Preheat oven to 400.

In a large skillet, brown ground beef, drain, and add taco seasoning, Rotel, and 1/2 can of enchilada sauce. Mix well.

An assault on your eyeballs

so… much… red…

While browning beef, cut tortillas into squares. This helps to form better layers, with less gaps. Line the bottom of your pan with tortilla pieces.

1

Tortilla tetris

Spoon meat mixture (it’s really more appealing than it sounds) onto tortilla layer.

2

Modern art? Or a terrible food picture? You decide.

Add 1/2 can of corn and 1 can of beans.

3

A food fiesta!

Top with cheese and drizzle enchilada sauce.

5

Don’t be fooled – this ugly dish is still good eats.

Repeat for additional layers. Depending on the size of your pan, you should be able to add one or two more layers.

Cover pan with foil. Bake for 30 minutes. Remove foil and bake for an additional 10-15 minutes, just enough to brown on top.

Because this dish wasn’t brown enough.

Normally I would post a final picture. I made this casserole in a rush to take to church for a wake. So unfortunately (or luckily) there isn’t a final photo. You can dress up your casserole with sour cream, black olives and avocado slices for garnish.

Instead of a final picture, I’ll leave you with a joke.

A teacher asked her third grade class to bring items for a special show-and-tell about their faith. The next day, David stood in front of the class and said, “I’m Jewish, and this is a menorah.” Sarah took her turn and said, “I’m Catholic and this is my rosary.” Peter then stood up proudly and said, “I’m Baptist, and this is a casserole.”

Best casserole joke ever.

6 thoughts on “Mexican Lasagna and Terrible Food Photography

    • 🙂 Thank you! It’s what’s inside that counts, right? And inside this Quasimodo casserole is enchilada-beefy-cheesy goodness.

  1. I love food photography, and like you I struggle with it! HOW do people make me want to lick my computer screen?! I am going to use the excuse that my camera is lousy… 😉 The casserole sounds great btw!

  2. Bah ha ha ha…

    So, I’m getting started back with our meal planning since having Selah, and I’ve decided to try out your recipes. I’m on here checking out this one and almost spewed water out of my nose after that joke.

    I have a thing for cheesy jokes.

    Get it? Casseroles are cheesy.

    Ok I’m done.

Leave a Reply

