Our Laundry is a Beast

5 Comments

It’s been a busy few days. Our fourth child has the croup. Our six-month-old twins are teething and going through a growth spurt, which means I’m breastfeeding constantly. Our 12-year-old and 13-year-old are working to catch up from their overly long Christmas break with their homeschool assignments. I’ve been enjoying stealing moments away to work on our family blog.

But I turned my back on a monster.

We have six children: our “Littles” – a toddler and infant twins and our “Bigs” – two teens and a tween. The amount of clothing needed by these six individuals every day is staggering. I have considered adopting a nudist policy here at the house.

So while I’ve been busy doling out tissues for the toddler, nursing twins, helping with the occasional math question, and working on ideas for blog content, I’ve been ignoring the laundry.

Big Mistake.

You tell 'em Boromir

You tell ’em Boromir

Our laundry pile has become mountainous. We have the added bonus of using cloth diapers in our home. They’re the pièce de résistance of our laundry. If I don’t stay on top of things, it gets out of hand in a hurry.

IMG_3813

Piles and piles of stinky socks and sweaty shirts are taking over our laundry/school room. With a battle of this magnitude on our hands, school has been canceled in our house today. We need all hands on deck. Today is a day for laundry and baking cookies.

As much as I dislike our laundry pile, there is a beautiful reminder underneath the mess.

Laundry = Life

Our home is full of life. Six children means lots of laundry, laughs, tears, fights, and love. It’s a beautiful mess. I need to keep this in mind as I sort the colors from the whites and wonder how many times my teenage daughter needs to change her clothes in a single day.

laundry graphic

This beautiful graphic from Three Little Monkeys Studio sums it up perfectly. Today I’m loving my Littles and Bigs while I fold their clothes.

5 thoughts on “Our Laundry is a Beast

  1. Pingback: Peanut Butter Cookies Made With Cake Mix | The Coers Family

  2. I was just thinking the other day of posting on the vast amount of laundry we have (and we only have three kids! I can’t imagine double!! Ha) I love the graphic you shared there about raising children and laundry. ❤ How can it seem like it's moving at a snail's pace one moment and the next thing you know they are talking about bands and boys?! My oldest is 12. 😉

  3. Pingback: Thankful Thursday: 10 Reasons to Rejoice | The Coers Family

  4. Pingback: Chicken Strogonoff in the Crock Pot | The Coers Family

Leave a Reply

