Cloth Diapering for a Cause

5 Comments

“… I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink…” Matthew 25:35 (NIV)

Recently I posted our family’s method for cloth diapering to save money. We have three currently in diapers and the cost of keeping little bottoms clean can add up quickly.

IMG_3646

They’re cute, but messy. These guys love to party… and when I say party, I mean pee and poop. All day and all night long.

While writing our “how we do it” post, I was adding up the numbers to get a better idea of just how much we save.

Here’s the breakdown: If we used disposable diapers every day we would use approximately 18-24 diapers a day. Diapers cost about 36 cents each. At that rate we would spend a little over $8 a day on diapers. If we used disposables every day we would spend around $2,900 a year. To get all three little ones through babyhood and potty-training we could possibly spend $8,000. In diapers. We would be throwing thousands of dollars in the garbage.

I’m all for saving money. But occasionally I’ll get bogged down with day-to-day chores, keeping up with six children, homeschooling, church activities, and then cloth diapering takes a back seat to convenience. If I’m not careful a week will go by without a single cloth diaper day. I cringe when I think of the money wasted.

God has blessed me with a wonderful idea to motivate myself to be more diligent with our cloth diapering efforts as well as a way to bless those in need and inspire others to love their neighbors.

Cloth Diapering for a Cause.

I love the World Vision catalog. Gifts that actually mean something and help others really touch my heart. Who needs another useless knick-knack to dust? Not this mama. I’d rather know that a family has food and income from chickens purchased in my name as a gift for them and for me.

I was flipping through the World Vision catalog and I found the Clean Water Fund – perfect! We use plenty of water when we’re cloth diaper. And I was reminded of the verse in Matthew when Jesus speaks of helping others in need. “For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in,” Matthew 25:35 NIV

IMG_3647

My husband and I had recently led a “Radical” by David Platt study for our Sunday School class. I want to encourage all Christians to read that book. It’s life-changing. During that study I was able to change my thinking about our lifestyle, our purpose, how to serve and follow Christ. Saving money is more to me now than just a few extra dollars in the bank account. We have a purpose: Help the Poor.

God graciously helped me tie my ideas together: cloth diaper to be good stewards of the money and resources He has given to us, and money saved can help bless those in need.

In order to raise $25 a month for the Clean Water Fund, I need to save $6.25 a week. That’s ONE day of cloth diapering.

With just one day a week, our family can save enough money to bless another family on the other side of the world with clean water.

I’m setting aside one day each week to use cloth diapers. The money saved on that day will go towards the Clean Water Fund.

I want to challenge and encourage all Christian mothers who currently have little ones in diapers to consider joining me in Cloth Diapering for a Cause. Pick the cause that’s closest to your heart. As long as you’re helping the poor and needy, you’re honoring The Lord.

5 thoughts on “Cloth Diapering for a Cause

  1. Hey I enjoyed your post. I raised three kids on cloth diapers and I don’t regret it! However, because of it, I will never again carry a big purse 🙂

  2. Pingback: CDFC: Day One | The Coers Family

  3. Pingback: CDFC: A Small Set Back | The Coers Family

  4. Pingback: CDFC: A Look at the Diapers We Love | The Coers Family

  5. Pingback: CDFC: We did it! « The Coers Family

Leave a Reply

